Shit You Don't Know

Word of the day. Post of the year. Crime of the century.

Moderators: pablo banquo, Gobo, Bag of Ass, SporkAndrew

User avatar
SporkAndrew
BSc (hams)
Posts: 5445
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2002 5:30 am
Location: Rochdale
Contact:

Postby SporkAndrew » Fri Jul 04, 2008 8:28 am

We are not at war with Eurasia.

User avatar
dogmeat
Goat In!
Posts: 5098
Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2004 11:52 pm
Location: Blazingsmoke, Hants
Contact:

Postby dogmeat » Fri Jul 04, 2008 12:11 pm

That remains to be seen.

User avatar
Too-Much-Coffee Mistress
Old Maid
Posts: 6045
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2002 5:52 am

Postby Too-Much-Coffee Mistress » Sat Jul 05, 2008 4:08 am

I knew that already. This thread is a dirty, dirty lie.
"The release of atom power has changed everything except our way of thinking...the solution to this problem lies in the heart of mankind. If only I had known, I should have become a watchmaker." - Albert Einstein

Kauser
Son of Perdition
Posts: 9565
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2002 8:05 pm

Postby Kauser » Tue Aug 26, 2008 4:37 pm

Apparently I've been driving on an expired inspection since March of this year...


And driving on an expired license since May of this year....



Go figure.
Do not call up what you cannot put down.

User avatar
OMGBEES
No! There wasn't any herpes.
Posts: 6747
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2007 5:20 pm

Postby OMGBEES » Tue Aug 26, 2008 7:05 pm

Man, I read about OS/400 or OS/5 or whatever the hell you want to call it, and holy shit do I want to play with that. Does anyone have a spare iSeries or pSeries I can have?

.
I HAVE CHORTLES!
Posts: 10842
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2002 6:25 pm
Location: The Vietnamese Ghetto

Postby . » Sat Aug 21, 2010 6:33 am

Guys, I need to block a site from being accessed on one of the computers in the house, but not on the rest of them. They are all connected through network settings.
Anyway, how do I block the site? I think they mostly use IE, but instructions for Firefox would probably be helpful, as well.
And no, I do not want to pay for blocking software, it's not that vital.

User avatar
OMGBEES
No! There wasn't any herpes.
Posts: 6747
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2007 5:20 pm

Postby OMGBEES » Sat Aug 21, 2010 7:39 am

. wrote:Guys, I need to block a site from being accessed on one of the computers in the house, but not on the rest of them. They are all connected through network settings.
Anyway, how do I block the site? I think they mostly use IE, but instructions for Firefox would probably be helpful, as well.
And no, I do not want to pay for blocking software, it's not that vital.


If the people are stupid, you can just edit the Windows hosts file to redirect the site to 127.0.0.1.

It's in:

(windows)\system32\drivers\etc\hosts

Note that it does NOT have an extension.

Otherwise you are starting to look at more technical shit, setting up Squidproxie or getting an old enterprise firewall or some shit.
Evocation vs. Definition: Become the water that names are writ in.

User avatar
OMGBEES
No! There wasn't any herpes.
Posts: 6747
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2007 5:20 pm

Postby OMGBEES » Sat Aug 21, 2010 7:39 am

Oh I guess you could try setting parental controls too.
Evocation vs. Definition: Become the water that names are writ in.

.
I HAVE CHORTLES!
Posts: 10842
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2002 6:25 pm
Location: The Vietnamese Ghetto

Postby . » Sat Aug 21, 2010 11:21 pm

I wouldn't say he's stupid but he's oblivious, so I think those will work for now. I think I got it blocked. However, he is devious but I can see his computer from my room.

The dude is 20 and he knows if he goes to Facebook, we'll just lock down the computer totally. My sister is being very generous even letting him back on the computer for his music stuff. We just wanted to remove the temptation. (And yes, we are having to police a 20 year-old's internet usage.)

Anyway, thank you Square.

.
I HAVE CHORTLES!
Posts: 10842
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2002 6:25 pm
Location: The Vietnamese Ghetto

Postby . » Mon Aug 30, 2010 2:01 am

Okay, one more thing.
A password was put on the computer. To log on, you have to put in a password. The password that was put on there is not working. Caps lock was checked. Spelling was checked. Everything.

Is there a way to get around it to take off the password? This password is set on the Administrator login.

User avatar
OMGBEES
No! There wasn't any herpes.
Posts: 6747
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2007 5:20 pm

Postby OMGBEES » Mon Aug 30, 2010 6:09 pm

Which version of Windows? Probably you are going to be better off formatting and reinstalling.
Evocation vs. Definition: Become the water that names are writ in.

.
I HAVE CHORTLES!
Posts: 10842
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2002 6:25 pm
Location: The Vietnamese Ghetto

Postby . » Mon Aug 30, 2010 6:31 pm

XP

User avatar
OMGBEES
No! There wasn't any herpes.
Posts: 6747
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2007 5:20 pm

Postby OMGBEES » Mon Aug 30, 2010 7:24 pm

Probably you are better off formatting and reinstalling. How much effort do you want to put into this? I've heard you can circumvent the XP login information with some difficulty and a Linux boot CD. I'd need to research it, though.
Evocation vs. Definition: Become the water that names are writ in.

.
I HAVE CHORTLES!
Posts: 10842
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2002 6:25 pm
Location: The Vietnamese Ghetto

Postby . » Mon Aug 30, 2010 11:45 pm

Ah, hrm. I think we'll just reformat and whatnot. So please, don't waste any time researching. It's not my computer so I am not very invested in it, honestly.
Thanks though.

User avatar
dogmeat
Goat In!
Posts: 5098
Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2004 11:52 pm
Location: Blazingsmoke, Hants
Contact:

Postby dogmeat » Tue Aug 31, 2010 12:33 pm

There is a way to reset the admin password but it involves XP install discs and faffing around. I tried it once and it seemed to work.

User avatar
OMGBEES
No! There wasn't any herpes.
Posts: 6747
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2007 5:20 pm

Postby OMGBEES » Tue Aug 31, 2010 12:39 pm

Do you mean this?
Evocation vs. Definition: Become the water that names are writ in.

User avatar
dogmeat
Goat In!
Posts: 5098
Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2004 11:52 pm
Location: Blazingsmoke, Hants
Contact:

Postby dogmeat » Tue Aug 31, 2010 1:29 pm

Yep, that's the bunny.

User avatar
OMGBEES
No! There wasn't any herpes.
Posts: 6747
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2007 5:20 pm

Postby OMGBEES » Tue Aug 31, 2010 2:27 pm

I suppose it's better than Windows98, but man.
Evocation vs. Definition: Become the water that names are writ in.

User avatar
Bag of Ass
Ninth Horrid Scar
Posts: 17611
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: New House

Postby Bag of Ass » Tue Aug 31, 2010 2:47 pm

May as well upgrade to Windows 7 while you're at it.

User avatar
OMGBEES
No! There wasn't any herpes.
Posts: 6747
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2007 5:20 pm

Postby OMGBEES » Tue Aug 31, 2010 3:40 pm

Windows 7 is amazing. Sometimes I cry when it boots up.
Evocation vs. Definition: Become the water that names are writ in.


Return to “Shallow Thoughts”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest